Policing Committee

The Policing Committee is a link between City Council, the RCMP Detachment, and the residents of Fort Saskatchewan. The committee helps understand the needs, values and expectations of the community when it comes to public safety and policing and shares that back to the police service.

We address concerns from the public regarding public safety, policing services and how we can make Fort Saskatchewan a safe and welcoming community.

Meeting are open to the public. Please email the Policing Committee for more information.


The Policing Committee is comprised of seven voting members, serving without remuneration appointed by a resolution of Council. The membership shall include:

  • one member of City Council
  • six members of the public-at-large

Policing Committee Members

  • Heather Boonstra: Chair
  • Allan Wesley: Vice-Chair
  • Lisa Makin: City Councillor
  • Mardoche Kapseu: Voting Member
  • Josie Krokis: Voting Member
  • Denise McInnes: Voting Member
  • Terry Noble: Voting Member & Public Complaints Director
  • Xander Prodanovic: Voting Member
  • Cassidy Sinclair: Voting Member

Roles and responsibilities as a committee member

All persons appointed to the committee shall:

  • Take the Oath of Office as prescribed in Schedule 2 of the Police Act;
  • Undertake a criminal records review and suitability screening through the RCMP;
  • Provide community feedback to the RCMP and Protective Services Department concerning policing and City Bylaw enforcement strategies and activities;
  • Review and advise Council on the annual RCMP goals and priorities;
  • Cooperate and liaise with community groups in creating programs or pursuing initiatives to improve public safety;
  • Make recommendations to Council relating to policing matters or relevant community issues, as it may deem advisable, on its own initiative or upon request of Council;
  • Assist in selecting the Officer In Charge;
  • Assist the Officer In Charge in resolving public complaints;
  • Any other duties as may be required in the Police Act;
  • Submit a yearly report to Council; and
  • Submit an annual budget to Council.

Public Complaints Director

The Public Complaints Director receives complaints against police officers from the public and refers them to the Officer In Charge of the RCMP Detachment.

Email the Public Complaints Director

Meeting Minutes


Additional information

Policing Committee Bylaw